Indicates the absence of gluten, which is composed of two proteins that naturally occur in some grains, including wheat, spelt, and rye, and products derived from these grains. The term is not regulated in the US; products are labeled gluten-free voluntarily by manufacturers to assist people with sensitivities or allergies to gluten.
Example of Gluten-Free:
Gluten free pastas are increasing in popularity amongst gluten intolerants. They are made from the combination of corn and rice that does not contain the protein that makes people allergic.